Attention physicians who live or practice in Missouri: Missouri Medicaid expansion is at risk.

The Missouri House of Representatives on April 1 passed a state budget for the fiscal year beginning July 1 that denies funding for the Medicaid expansion that was approved by 53% of voters last August. The budget legislation has been sent to the Senate where it also must be approved. Please contact your state senator and the members of the Senate Appropriations Committee and ask them to restore funding for Medicaid expansion. (Note that KC-area senators Arthur, Cierpiot, Luetkemeyer and Washington are members of the Appropriations Committee.)

A = Appropriations Committee Member …………………………….. Boldface and KC Area Note = Senator from Kansas City Area

Senator (Party-District)Phone EmailAppropr
Comm Member
KC Area Represented
Lauren Arthur (D-17)573-751-5282lauren.arthur@senate.mo.govASE Clay
Justin Brown (R-16)573-751-5713justin.brown@senate.mo.govA 
Mike Cierpiot (R-08)573-751-1464mike.cierpiot@senate.mo.govASE Jackson
Sandy Crawford (R-28)573-751-8793sandy.crawford@senate.mo.govA 
Bill Eigel (R-23)573-751-1141bill.eigel@senate.mo.govA 
Karla Eslinger (R-33)573-751-1882karla.eslinger@senate.mo.govA 
Dan Hegeman (R-12)
(Appropr. Chair)
573-751-1415dan.hegeman@senate.mo.govAClay &
north to Iowa
Denny Hoskins (R-21)573-751-4302denny.hoskins@senate.mo.govA 
Lincoln Hough (R-30)573-751-1311lincoln.hough@senate.mo.govA 
Tony Luetkemeyer (R-34)573-751-2183tony.luetkemeyer@senate.mo.govAPlatte
Karla May (D-04)573-751-3599karla.may@senate.mo.govA 
Greg Razer (D-07)573-751-6607greg.razer@senate.mo.gov SW Jackson
Jeanie Riddle (R-10)573-751-2757jeanie.riddle@senate.mo.govA 
John Rizzo (D-11)573-751-3074john.rizzo@senate.mo.gov NE Jackson
Barbara Anne Washington (D-09)573-751-3158barbara.washington@senate.mo.govACentral Jackson
Brian Williams (D-14)573-751-4106brian.williams@senate.mo.govA 

In your message, please ask senators to restore funding for Medicaid expansion in the budget. Please emphasize:

  • Medicaid expansion has been approved by the voters and we must abide by the will of the voters.
  • The Governor included funding for Medicaid expansion in his recommended budget.
  • As a physician, you are concerned about people‚Äôs access to needed health care and ability of people to stay healthy and remain productive members of the workforce and society.

Right now, senators will be watching the amount of sentiment they hear from constituents on either side of this issue. This is the ideal time to speak out and make the physician voice heard.

If you have questions, please contact Karole Bradford, kbradford@kcmedicine.org.

Additional Resources:

Missouri Legislator Lookup: https://www.senate.mo.gov/LegisLookup/Default.aspx

Map of Missouri Senate Districts: https://www.sos.mo.gov/CMSImages/Elections/2013Senatemap.pdf