Congratulations to KCMS board member and past president John C. Hagan, III, MD, for receiving the 2019 Hal Foster Award from the Kansas City Society of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology.

The Hal Foster Award is given annually to one ophthalmologist and one otolaryngologist who promotes professionalism and the ideals of Hal Foster, MD founder of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology.

Dr. Hagen has published over 140 scientific articles and designed several surgical instruments. He also is editor of Missouri Medicine, the journal of the Missouri State Medical Association, and a long-standing member of both the KCMS and MSMA.

Learn more about membership in the Kansas City Medical Society by contacting