The Kansas City Medical Society congratulates the following recipients of our 2021 Awards, presented at the 2021 KCMS Annual Meeting on October 26:

(NOTE: Masks were worn at the meeting but removed for these presentation photos.)

Lifetime Achievement Award – Michael Weaver, MD, FACEP, CDM

Recently retired from Saint Luke’s Health System, Dr. Weaver has been a pioneer locally and nationally in the development of emergency care services for victims of sexual assault as well as other forms of abuse. He was medical director of forensic care services for Saint Luke’s Health System for 41 years until his retirement in July 2021. He also was founding co-chair of the Forensic Section of the American College of Emergency Physicians from 2006 to 2010.

Throughout his career, Dr. Weaver has championed the advancement of African Americans in medicine. He was the first Black student to complete the University of Missouri-Kansas City six-year medical school curriculum in 1977. For the past 15 years, he has led the Critical Mass Gathering event for Black students at Kansas City’s three area medical schools. More recently, he founded and continues to lead Mission Vision Project KC, a nonprofit that aims to increase the number of underrepresented minorities in the Kansas City health care workforce.

Friend of Medicine Award – Ruth Ramsey

Since 2005, she has published Our Health Matters, a magazine providing valuable preventive health information to a wide audience representing the diversity of Kansas City. Our Health Matters works to improve health literacy and empower people to take charge of their health. Recent topics covered include cancer treatment and early diagnosis, the science behind COVID-19 vaccines, and better sleep health. More people are taking better care of themselves as a result of the information they gain from Our Health Matters.

Community Service Award – Todd Beardman, MD, and Denny Fugate, PharmD

North Kansas City Hospital chief medical chief information officer Dr. Todd Beardman and senior director of pharmacy Dr. Denny Fugate made major contributions to implementing the Operation SAFE COVID-19 vaccination program in Clay County from February to May of this year. They helped ensure that nearly 100,000 people received vaccinations.

Rising Star Award – Andrew Schlachter, MD

Since joining Saint Luke’s Hospital in 2015, Dr. Schlachter, a critical care physician, has assumed positions of greater responsibility including medical director of Respiratory Services and the Neurosciences ICU. He also has represented the hospital in dozens of media interviews on COVID-19. He also is the Saint Luke’s representative on the KCMS Leadership Council.

Patient and Community Advocate Award – Amy Patel, MD

Over the past three years, Dr. Patel has championed Missouri legislation that has increased insurance coverage for screening mammograms, thus helping more women detect potential cancer. She is medical director of the Breast Care Center at Liberty Hospital.

Innovation Award – John Hagan, III, MD, FACS, FAAO

Dr. Hagan is an ophthalmologist with Discover Vision Centers. Working with fellow ophthalmologist Dr. Carl Migliazzo, Dr. Hagan has published articles and conducted studies to advance the use of beta blocker eye drops and nasal sprays to provide relief for victims of acute migraines. This promising therapy awaits FDA approval.

Exemplary Leadership Award – Maninder Pabla, MD

Dr. Pabla is the founder, president and CEO of ConnectCare Hospitalists. She has led her group in maintaining a high level of care at the eight area hospitals they serve, overcoming the challenges of the COVID-19 pandemic.

See a list of past honorees.