How to Refer Patients for Specialty Care

Metro Care and Wy Jo Care look forward to receiving your referral of patients to our programs.

Patient Eligibility

Metro Care and Wy Jo Care have four basic eligibility standards:

  • Must be resident for at least three months of Clay, Platte or Jackson counties (Metro Care), or Johnson or Wyandotte counties (Wy Jo Care).
  • Family income of less than 200 percent of federal poverty level
  • Have no health insurance
  • Not eligible for any government programs such as Medicare, Medicaid, VA or worker’s compensation
  • In city of Kansas City, Mo., and Jackson County, not eligible for assistance through Truman Medical Centers


All referrals to Wy Jo Care and Metro Care are provided through HIPAA-compliant electronic referral platforms. Training and support is provided for referral coordinators at clinics.

Training updates on the referral process are offered regularly. Watch for announcements of future training sessions.

For more information on referring patients to Metro Care and Wy Jo Care, contact Karole Bradford,

Thanks to our major funders:

Wyandotte Health Foundation Logo
REACH Healthcare Foundation Logo Masonic Cancer Center Logo